Cashfree Charges in 2026: Fees by Payment Method, With Worked Examples
Cashfree's standard fee is 1.95% plus GST on UPI, cards, netbanking and wallets, with no setup fee. Merchants who signed up from 21 July 2026 pay no platform fee on their first ₹20 lakh until 31 March 2027, with exclusions.

In this post · 7 sections
Short answer: Cashfree's standard fee is 1.95% plus GST on UPI, cards, netbanking and wallets, with no setup fee. Merchants who signed up from 21 July 2026 pay no platform fee on their first ₹20 lakh until 31 March 2027, with exclusions.
Prices checked on 24 October 2026 on Cashfree's own pricing page. Sources are at the end.
Cashfree rates by payment method
| Payment method | Fee per payment | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| UPI | 1.95% | UPI appears in the list of payment modes with a 1.95% platform fee (2.0% is shown struck through). Cashfree's FAQ also says UPI gateway charges are 'as per the applicable law'. |
| Debit cards | 1.95% | Visa, Mastercard, RuPay and Maestro are in the 1.95% list. |
| Credit cards | 1.95% | Visa and Mastercard are in the 1.95% list. For RuPay credit cards on UPI, Cashfree asks you to raise a support ticket. |
| Netbanking | 1.95% | Bank payments are in the 1.95% list. |
| Wallets | 1.95% | PhonePe, Airtel Payments, JioMoney and Amazon Pay are in the 1.95% list. |
| EMI | 2.2% | Credit card EMI is 2.2%. Debit card EMI (HDFC Bank) is 1.5%. Cardless EMI is listed as '+1.90%'. |
| International cards | 2.99% | International Visa and Mastercard. |
| Amex | 2.95% | 2.95% is listed under international cards. Amex also appears in the domestic 1.95% list. |
- Setup fee: ₹0
- Annual maintenance: ₹0 for the standard gateway. Premium services (dedicated account manager, priority support) need an annual maintenance charge, but the amount is not stated.
- Settlement: T+1 by 8:00 PM IST is the default for new merchants under the festive offer. The standard cycle outside the offer is not stated. Instant settlement (within 30 minutes) costs 0.30% + GST.
- 18% GST on the platform fee
The standard platform fee is 1.95% + GST. Pay Later is 2.20% or 2.50%. Virtual account IMPS/NEFT/RTGS payments are ₹20 each. PayPal payments are charged at standard gateway rates. Payment Links, Payment Forms and softPOS come free with the gateway.
Festive offer until 31 March 2027: new merchants who sign up on or after 21 July 2026 pay no platform fee on their first ₹20,00,000 of domestic transactions. GST is still charged, worked out on the 1.95% rate. Amex, Diners, corporate credit cards, EMI, prepaid cards, Pay Later, subscriptions and international payments are left out of the offer. If credit cards make up 60% or more of your sales (checked once you reach ₹1 lakh), Cashfree can withdraw the offer. Only one account per PAN or bank account can get it. After the offer ends, the standard 1.95% + taxes applies.
Enterprises can ask the sales team for custom pricing.
What a sale costs you
Fees below use the domestic credit card rate and the UPI rate from the table, plus 18% GST on the fee, outside the festive offer. A negotiated rate may be lower.
| Order value | Fee on UPI | Fee on a card | You receive (card) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹499 | ₹11.48 | ₹11.48 | ₹487.52 |
| ₹1,450 | ₹33.36 | ₹33.36 | ₹1,416.64 |
| ₹5,000 | ₹115.05 | ₹115.05 | ₹4,884.95 |
UPI fees after the 2026 MDR decision
Cashfree lists UPI with its 1.95% platform fee. Its FAQ also says UPI charges are 'as per the applicable law'. The page does not say how the 2026 UPI MDR will be charged.
The rule itself: on 15 September 2026 the government approved a 0.4% MDR on UPI payments to merchants above ₹2,000, capped at ₹300 from ₹75,000 up. Payments of ₹2,000 or less stay free, and merchants can't pass the charge to buyers. NPCI said on 13 October 2026 that it starts after Diwali, on a date still to be announced.
What Cashfree is set up for
New merchants can sell their first ₹20 lakh without a platform fee until 31 March 2027, as long as they meet the offer terms. Cashfree also offers subscriptions (card and UPI AutoPay mandates), Easy Split for vendor payouts, instant settlements and payouts. Payment Links and Forms are included free. International payments are supported in 140+ currencies, and Cashfree has a gateway built for Shopify stores.
Using Cashfree with Selzix
Cashfree isn't built into Selzix checkout today. On Selzix you take payments through your own Razorpay or Stripe account, a direct UPI QR with no gateway fee, or cash on delivery. Selzix adds no fee of its own on any sale. To see when a gateway is worth it at all, read Direct UPI vs payment gateway.
Sources
- Payment Gateway Charges, Cashfree Payments (read 24 October 2026)
- UPI Continues to Remain Free for Peer to Peer Transactions and 96% of Merchant Transactions, Press Information Bureau, Ministry of Finance (read 24 October 2026)
- Merchant Discount Rate (MDR) on Select UPI (P2M) Transactions: FAQs (15 Sept 2026), NPCI (published on the Department of Financial Services site) (read 24 October 2026)
- UPI MDR on Select Merchant Transactions Shall be Implemented Post Diwali (13 October 2026), NPCI (read 24 October 2026)
Gateways change prices and offer custom rates to larger businesses. Check the pricing page before you sign up. Cover photo: Simon Kadula on Unsplash.